Skip to Main Content

About The City College

The City College of New York is a small university within The City University of New York, offering a rich program of undergraduate, master’s and doctoral study through its various schools and divisions.

The College of Liberal Arts and Science comprises the:

  • Division of Humanities and the Arts

  • Division of Science

  • The Colin Powell School for Civic and Global Leadership (formerly the Division of Social Science)

  • Division of Interdisciplinary Studies at the Center for Worker Education (CCNY Downtown)

The Professional Schools are the:

  • Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture

  • School of Education

  • Grove School of Engineering

  • The CUNY School of Medicine at the City College of New York 

Founded in 1847 by a referendum of the people of New York City, City College’s mandate was to offer the best education possible to the "whole people" and to bring together students from various backgrounds to learn from the best faculty in the nation. The City College (CCNY) is the oldest college of the twenty-four units comprising The City University of New York (CUNY), which was established in 1961.

The College’s resources include the Morris Raphael Cohen Library, the largest library in the University system, with holdings of over one and a half million volumes; more than two hundred teaching and research laboratories; The Towers, a six-hundred bed residence hall; and an Information Technology Center that provides instructional and research-oriented services and student access through numerous student computer labs. The Aaron Davis Hall is the site of rehearsals, performances, exhibits and technical training for students in the performing arts, as well as presentations by professional artists in partnership with the City College Center for the Arts. It is a major cultural asset for CCNY as well as the New York City community. We are also home to two state of the art scientific research hubs, the Center for Discovery and Innovation and the Advanced Science Research Center, both located on our South Campus.